Smashbox Cosmetics

I’ve got to admit, I am a bit of an addict for anything beauty, and always up for trying new things. So when me and my friends ventured into Boots the other week, I decided to investigate the new Smashbox Cosmetics counter. I’ve only recently heard about Smashbox from makeup video’s on YouTube so thought it would be quite a good idea to try out a few new products. At first, I wasn’t convinced. I assumed it would just be another rip-off Mac makeup brand with student un-friendly prices, but no. My mind was changed as fast as you can say kabuki brush.

We ended up looking at the boutique for at least half an hour and went round the counter again and again searching high and low just to make sure we didn’t miss out, now that we’d been introduced to this simply smashing brand (sorry).

I was initially drawn to the sale items (as any girl is) but realized that actually, the current stock wasn’t that much more expensive. They had so many amazing products and I was dying to try them all.

By the end of our visit, we had collectively spent smashbox’s annual turnover. One friend went home with the majority of the facial products after having a makeover, my other pal the ‘Try it Kit’ and lip glosses, and me trying to be kind to my bank account – the Limited Edition ‘Studio Pop for Lips’.

sbox1

Picture from Smashbox Cosmetics.
(From left to right) Spiceberry, Candy, Illume, Star, Razzle.

Now I’ve gone through my fair share of different lip gloss’ such as Benefit’s Lip Shines, Bobbi Brown’s High Sheen Lip Gloss, (which are both uncomfortably sticky and result in awkward gloss/teeth situations), and my personal all time favourite that I was introduced to in Bloomingdales – the Clarins Instant Light Natural Lip Perfecter. However, I have never used such long-wearing glosses that keep the lips so conditioned, like the Smashbox glosses do. I couldn’t wait about trying my new purchases and as soon as we reached the car, I popped open my tin of Studio Pop.

In the box….

One of the first things that attracted me to this product is the metal tin in which the lip glosses come in (sad but true). Within the tin there are 3 Lip Enhancing Gloss’; Spiceberry, a nude/cream pink (and my fav), Illume, an irredescent pink and Razzle, a hot pink/purple which looks great when lightly applied over red lipstick. They separately retail at £14 each.

Then there are 2 Reflection High Shine Gloss in Star, a clear colour that can be put over any lipstick, or on its own to add a subtle sheen and Candy, a bubblegum pink perfect for girly moods. These lipglosses sell at £15 each.

If you can do the math, (I can’t I used a calculator), if I had bought these separately, I’d have paid a whopping £72 on 5 lip glosses which simply cannot be justified; however, I bagged myself an incredible bargain paying just £17 for the 5 glosses which are only a fraction smaller than the full sized. And what’s even better, I had enough points on my Boots card to pay for these so I technically got them for free!

Overall, I think these are great little products which can be put in your bag for a quick top up (even though I don’t think you would need to). Now that I’ve got a starting point I’m hoping to purchase the ‘Try it Kit’ which contains small ‘try-before-you-buy’ sizes of Smashbox’s most iconic products, but I can see this brand easily providing some of my essentials. Such as the Photo Finish Foundation Primer tester I received with my purchase, even though I personally find that primers tend to dry out my skin.

So if you don’t mind splashing your cash on anything pretty, and at a very good value(!!), then why not check out either their website, Facebook or Twitter. 

http://www.smashbox.co.uk/

https://www.facebook.com/smashboxcosmeticsuk

https://twitter.com/smashbox

 

One thought on “Smashbox Cosmetics

Leave a Reply

